In section: News

Presentation of the exhibition of living tableaus of the "Patriotes"

Marie-Rose Center open to the public on September 30

Within the context of the “Journées de la Culture”, a theatrical, musical and visual creation of living tableaus of the 1837-1838 Rebellion will be presented for the first and only time, in the chapel of the Congregational House of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary (SNJM), on Saturday, September 30th. 

This exhibition was created by the artist Monique Rioux, assisted by France Mercille. She maps out this important episode in the history of Quebec, from excerpts taken from the books of Viateur Lefrançois, documents from the SNJM Central Archives Department and from the "Société historique et culturelle du Marigot".

The exhibition was made possible with the invaluable collaboration of the students and teachers from École secondaire Saint-Edmond as well as the Seniors from the "Atelier Théâtral de Longueuil". The audience will be able to read the short excerpts as they enjoy the acting. All of this will be complemented by a musical ensemble from the same school.

A return to the roots

The presentation of this unique, theatrical creation, will be an opportunity to reconnect with the 1837-1838 era. Among other things, people will discover the dismal picture of education in Lower Canada.

The audience will glean a better understanding of the roots of the Congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary (1843), the first Congregation of women religious teachers founded by a Canadian. They will also discover women who were particularly affected by this troubled period.

At the end of the exhibition, those who are interested will have the opportunity to visit the many attractions at the Marie-Rose Center, including the museum, the historical rooms where the foundress Eulalie Durocher lived and the Foundation House which was the first “model” school in Longueuil.

For this occasion, the mini-exhibition on the lost brook (Saint-Antoine Brook) will also be accessible to visitors. The latter offers cadastral maps and photographs of this vestige of the Longueil heritage. Several of these unpublished documents highlight certain streets as well as helps the reader to better know the area..

Important note 

Since there is limited space for the presentation of the live show exhibition, from 2 pm to 2:45 pm, it is absolutely necessary to reserve your place by calling 450 651-8104, extension 0. On this occasion, the Marie-Rose Center will also be open to visitors between 2 pm and 4:30 pm on Saturday, September 30th. The Congregational House is located at 80, rue Saint-Charles East, Longueuil.

Moreover, in the afternoon of Sunday, October 1st, the Recreation Committee of Maison Jésus-Marie will present a concert featuring the vocal ensemble Polymnie. It should be noted that this vocal ensemble was founded 40 years ago at Collège Durocher, by Sister Maryse Moisan, SNJM and M. Laforge. This activity is also part of the “Journées de la Culture”.

Other articles in the section News
“We are and we will be feminists as long as it is necessary!”
Demystify aging and maintaining the development of one's cognitive abilities
“May our lives be renewed!”
A look back at the year 2017 - Intense, touching and inspiring moments
The SNJM’s helping hand in Michel Tremblay’s play at Théâtre Jean-Duceppe
Becoming aware of human trafficking on a daily basis
A journey into exile…
ANOTHER LOOK AT RELIGIOUS LIFE- Part 2
ANOTHER LOOK AT RELIGIOUS LIFE- Part 1
May peace be with her